TitleAuthor/Illustrator   Advanced Search
Home - Find a Book - Listen to a Story - Discover Fun Activities

North Carolina Children's Book Award

The North Carolina Children’s Book Award program is a children’s choice program sponsored by school and public librarians in North Carolina and is designed to introduce children to current children’s literature and to instill a love of reading.

2015 Winners

  • The Day the Crayons Quit, written by Drew Daywalt and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers, is the winner in the Picture Book Category, receiving 27,010 of the 81,467 total votes cast.

  • Duke, by Kirby Larson, is the winner in the Junior Book Category, receiving 1303 of the total 6,570 votes cast.

*Free Reader Required

2016 North Carolina Children's Book Award Nominees

This is the official list of nominees released by the NCCBA Committee. Please consult this list when ordering titles for your voting program. All vendors may not include each title in their promotional materials.

Reviews for all titles coming soon!

Picture Books

Junior Books

  • Ivan: the Remarkable True Story of the Shopping Mall Gorilla
    Applegate, Katherine. G. Brian Karas (ill): Boston: Clarion Books, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. 2014

  • My Teacher is a Monster! (No, I am Not)
    Brown, Peter: NY: Little Brown and Co. 2014

  • The Cart That Carried Martin
    Bunting, Eve. Don Tate (ill): Watertown, MA: Charlesbridge. 2013

  • Gravity
    Chin, Jason: NY: A Neal Porter Book, Roaring Brook Press. 2014

  • Last Stop on Market Street
    de la Peña, Matt . Christian Robinson (ill): NY: G. P. Putnam's Sons a Penguin Imprint. 2015

  • Gaston
    DiPucchio, Kelly. Christian Robinson (ill): NY: Atheneum Books for Young Readers. 2014

  • Some Bugs
    DiTerlizzi, Angela. Brendan Wenzel (ill): NY: Beach Lane Books. 2014

  • This Orq. (He Cave Boy)
    Elliott, David, Lori Nichols (ill): Honesdale, PA: Boyds Mills Press, an imprint of Highlights. 2014

  • Who Says Women Can't Be Doctors: the Story of Elizabeth Blackwell
    Stone, Tanya Lee. Marjorie Priceman (ill.): NY: Henry Holt and Co. 2013

  • Blue on Blue
    White, Dianne. Beth Krommes (ill): NY: Beach Lane Books. 2014
  • The One and Only Ivan
    Applegate, Katherine: NY: Harper. 2012

  • The Night Gardener
    Auxier, Jonathan: NY: Amulet Books. 2014

  • El Deafo
    Bell, CeCe: NY: Amulet Books. 2014

  • Poached
    Gibbs, Stuart: NY: Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers. 2014

  • Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library
    Grabenstein, Chris: NY: Random House. 2013

  • The Fourteenth Goldfish
    Holm, Jennifer L.: NY: Random House. 2014

  • Elvis and the Underdogs
    Lee, Jenny. Kelly Light (ill).: NY: Balzar + Bray. 2013

  • Rain Reign
    Martin, Ann: NY: Feiwel and Friends. 2014

  • Counting by 7s
    Sloan, Holly Goldberg: NY: Dial Books for Young Readers. 2013

  • Mister Max: The Book of Lost Things
    Voigt, Cynthia. Iacopo Bruno (ill): NY: Alfred A. Knopf. 2013

  • Brown Girl Dreaming
    Woodson, Jacqueline: NY: Nancy Paulsen Books an imprint of Penguin Books. 2014

About the NCCBA

The North Carolina Children's Book Award began in 1992. Each year since then, school and public libraries participate in the process of selecting, studying and voting for the next winner! Members of the North Carolina Library Association's children's committee select a group of picture books and junior novels from suggestions submitted by North Carolinian school children. The list of books is then given to each school and public library throughout the state. During the course of the year, classroom teachers, media specialists and public librarians in North Carolina encourage children to become familiar with the nominees and vote for their favorite title in two categories: "Picture Book" and "Junior Book". The award is therefore truly a children's book award - selected by the children of the state of North Carolina!

For information about joining the NCCBA Committee, please contact one of the co-chairs listed below.

NCCBA Contact Information

North Carolina Children's Book Award Committee Co-Chairs
Lisa Tucker England
Winston Salem Forsyth County Schools
Frank Morgan Elementary
3210 Village Point Drive
Clemmons, NC 27102
email: lengland@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
Janet West
Public Librarian
East Regional Library
946 Steeple Square Court
Knightdale, NC 27545
email: janet.west@wakegov.com

Wizard Hat Crayons Book Lists Checked box
Harry Potter Quiz Coloring Pages Zinger's Booklists My Booklist